May 16, 2007 at 12:35 pm #1041333SDParticipant
if you thought barbarism was a thing of the past, think again. Masterfoods – the vile manufacturers of Mars bars, Maltesers, Twix, Snickers, Bounty, Milky Way, Galaxy and Minstrels – have started from this month onwards to use rennet taken from the stomachs of new-born calves in all their products. Why do they suddenly have to use animal by-products in their chocolate, when it was previously produced using only vegetarian alternatives? The answer is very simple: it’s easier and cheaper for them to use, abuse and slaughter animals than produce a vegetarian-type rennet. Any bar with a ‘Best Before’ date after 01-10-2007 is no longer classed as vegetarian. From now on, anyone with a conscience will think twice about ‘murdering’ a chocolate bar, knowing that that means condoning the mindless torture and murder of calves. And that’s a lot of calves, considering Masterfoods make three million Mars bars alone per day in their factory in Slough.
It’s always advisable to read the contents before buying any innocuous products like sweets, yoghurts, ice cream, jelly (gelatine is boiled animal skin), cheese, cakes, biscuits – the list is endless – as they often involve the use of animals. Look for ‘suitable for vegetarians’ on the packet.
Copy and paste this and sign form
http://www.petitiononline.com/MarsWhey/May 16, 2007 at 1:03 pm #1104856General LightingModerator
an unfortunate situation, but an example of the ruthlessness of the market.
Mars has suffered sales losses for other reasons (maybe a backlash in general against junk food) and has made this commercial decision knowing full well it is going to lose a lot of custom from vegetarians – of which there are probably way more around than even 20 years ago.
Their accountants would have calculated that the reduced costs from using the animal-based rennet far outweigh any further lost custom due to this decision and I doubt the decision was made lightly.
Your only way of fighting back really is not to purchase the products – if you want I will dig up a large list of what sweets are vegetarian that got posted to another forum I am on.May 16, 2007 at 1:25 pm #1104861SDParticipant
Well im not vegetarian, I did the whole vegan thing when i was younger. I just think people need to be more aware of what they are eating. Im skint but I try and make ethical food choices ie, shopping from local butchers and greengrocers.May 16, 2007 at 5:09 pm #1104858BioTechParticipant
Savage! I eat meat but I don’t agree with some of the more barbaric methods of factory farming. As for stuff like this where it’s just killing to save money it’s pretty low.
Oh well, I never really ate any of them anyway apart from Galaxy. So that’s Masterfoods and Nestle out the window. They make up most of mainstream chocolate market.May 20, 2007 at 12:34 pm #1104859leveretParticipant
Mars’s parent company has relented due to public pressure and will be changing Mars Bars back to veggie ! http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/6673549.stmMay 21, 2007 at 9:59 am #1104860JuBagParticipant
They’ve withdrawn it now, they said they OBVIOUSLY made a mistake and didn’t realise the offence it would cause.
Twats.May 21, 2007 at 10:20 am #1104857General LightingModeratorJuBag wrote:They’ve withdrawn it now, they said they OBVIOUSLY made a mistake and didn’t realise the offence it would cause.
PR / damage limitation exercise – its more like they just rechecked their calculations, and worked out another way of saving costs without so much bad publicity or potential lost sales.
I expect they will probably close down the remaining Slough factory now, and the chocolates will be made by some workers in an East European country getting paid 2 euros an hour..
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.