Forums Radionics Radio Bookings Any room for one more?

This topic contains 23 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by Avatar beauty February 15, 2014 at 9:59 am.

Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #1056909
    Avatar
    D_ni
    Participant

    Awwiite!

    Recently got back onto PV and was wondering about the availability of a radio set?
    Theres a link below containing a few mixes (the NYE set being most recent)

    I mix minimal tech (with a few housey sounding tunes thrown in too)

    Would love to be part of the PV radio community!!

    love love xx :bounce_fl

    https://soundcloud.com/ministermk

    #1277365
    Avatar
    Dr Bunsen
    Participant

    Thanks for your interest but we’re not broadcasting live at the moment I’m afraid. You might want to speak to GL about the possibility of playing on VFR though…

    #1277344
    Avatar
    General Lighting
    Moderator

    yep I would be up for some live sets (or even pre recorded ones, whichever ones are easiest), just finalising some obscure tech details for live streaming but once thats sorted it should be straightforward enough. Any particular times/dates you are interested in?

    #1277361
    Avatar
    D_ni
    Participant

    I’d rather live, but can do recordings if need be.
    Don’t mind doing saturday or friday evenings. 18:00 – 20:00 if you want or can do just an hour.

    what slots you got free?

    thanks very much for this!

    #1277345
    Avatar
    General Lighting
    Moderator

    tthose will be fine (currently there are repeated block of pre recorded shows). The plan is you connect to e “remote music line” which is a 192k mp3 icecast stream – it works best if you are slightly early as the playout will seize your remote stream straight away for two hours until the stream clears. you will not have to deal with any auto DJ stuff as that will be done automatic, the only thing to watch out for is if you are unavoidable delayed I would have to put in some emergency contect.

    Be aware though that this will be 19:00 to 21:00 on my main playout system as it is in the Netherlands and the server is set to CET

    the studio / playout centre can be reached by text, voice call and skype and there can be a conference for audio talkback (if you get many free minutes on mobile or free fixed cals might be useful.

    With these times I might not always be able to check the stream but daftfader has the special code and If I am still at work there are some things I can sort out remotely..

    must get to bed early for parcel man, is delivering new UPS for the NAS drives and smaller PC’s and some audio kit as I’m already at half capacity on the big one (and there’s not enough leccy to use the one in the roofspace – I tend to even run my monitor amps via the UPS as otherwise there is noise interference through the mains (my studio/workshop is above the kitchen and the boiler control signals are presnted on the ring main to my room…)

    #1277362
    Avatar
    D_ni
    Participant

    Yeah thats bless dude, i have skype so can link up there.
    So I’m guessing i don’t need to download a streaming client, if there is a code i can put into the system?
    I run all my hardware through my laptop so shouldn’t be too much trouble.

    So if your server is an hour ahead, the start time would be 18:00 GMT then. Obviously then i just add/take hours for pals overseas.

    Hope you managed to get your parcel today man, reckon it might eliminate the grounding issues?
    Sometimes the age of the building can factor into these issues.

    #1277346
    Avatar
    General Lighting
    Moderator

    what software and equipment are you using? some DJ software already has the streaming client built in..

    yep everything arrived today – I’d sorted out the ground loops (there is a entire thread about why this happens) but was more concerned about the UPS loading. Originally I was running VFR from my house but even the basic system is using 250W of leccy, it works out cheaper to rent a VPS in the Netherlands than pay for the electric in the UK!

    BTW both the supplies to the datacentre in NL and EPC1 in England are now on renewable energy – and in a couple of years time I’m putting up 800W solar panels on the roof and running a 48V battery bank just outside the house (it must be outside for safety against high current and fire).

    This is as much to get away from contamination of the mains wires by interference as to be eco friendly (I listen to a lot of analogue radio as well and mains wires put out unwanted signals because of the way some modern gadgets are made.. (the substation for my block is 5m away from my garden)

    #1277363
    Avatar
    D_ni
    Participant

    Am using ableton (live 8) Not sure if it has that capability built in. Least if there is, its not obvious.

    Wicked, glad that all worked out for you mate. Sounds like you’ve got a veritable lab running at your gaff!
    Also, kudos for renting out a server on the mainland. gold sticker for initiative there ๐Ÿ™‚

    Doesn’t the state subsidise you for putting solar panels on your property? Least on radio 4 some energy rep said they requisition a percentage of the power generated.

    #1277347
    Avatar
    General Lighting
    Moderator

    @d_ni 560748 wrote:

    Am using ableton (live 8) Not sure if it has that capability built in. Least if there is, its not obvious. [/quote]

    in that case you would probably be better off using a separate PC for the streaming (even one 5-7 years old will do if it can run windows XP or Linux and has a decent soundcard (external USB ones are often better than internal ones).

    Although it might be possible to use a “virtual audio cable” to stream direct from one PC, there are way more chances of problems you would be trying to do real time audio mixing and encode to MP3 at the same time!)

    This PC needs to be clear of unwanted crapware, random files and be defragmented, if possible dedicate this PC to running the streaming software + any level meters or recording software.

    I suggest trying to get some friends to help you if possible, so one person can keep an eye on the levels and stuff like the chatroom whilst you concentrate on the music (remember also to turn off any chatroom sounds or route them to a different soundcard!)

    Quote:
    Also, kudos for renting out a server on the mainland. gold sticker for initiative there ๐Ÿ™‚

    Doesn’t the state subsidise you for putting solar panels on your property? Least on radio 4 some energy rep said they requisition a percentage of the power generated.

    There are some feed in tarrifs but they keep changing plus the approved system isn’t much use in a power cut as it deliberately disconnects you to stop your panels back feeding the UK Power Networks transformers (which would be a hazard to staff fixing any fault), plus I’d need to get the entire house rewired (I still have the old Eastern Electricity Board fuse box) and with these new regulations it all has to be independently checked and tested…

    #1277364
    Avatar
    D_ni
    Participant

    Hmmm this does present some problems, I don’t really have a PC or extra laptop to hand.
    I guess a virtual audio cable might be an option. Depends if the machine can take it (15” Macbookpro, mid 2010)
    May try it out later, and see how it fares up.

    But your probably right, having an extra set of hands to keep an eye on the output level and man the chat would be ideal.
    I’ll see what i can do in the mean time, might be able to see if anyone is available to let me invade and make noise for a few hours. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    #1277356
    Avatar
    sim667
    Participant

    Just perving on this thread as I’m kind of interested in trying to do a show somewhere, but am also quite scared as I’m reasonably new to all of this (been mixing since 2011 – still at the bedroom level).

    But theres an app called nicecast for OSX for streaming, I’ve used it on another radio show, you open the app, and then it “hijacks” all sound output from whatever app you’re using to mix and broadcasts that….. I’ve tried it on itunes, and I remember using it once for traktor (before realising traktor had streaming built in(, but I’ve no idea about ableton – maybe worth a look?

    I think its made by a company called Rogue Amoeba…… hope that helps ๐Ÿ˜€

    #1277351
    Avatar
    Angel
    Moderator

    Try and post a mix.

    Maybe send it a bit more private to General Lighting, he’s the boss :weee:

    #1277357
    Avatar
    sim667
    Participant

    @angel 560880 wrote:

    Try and post a mix.

    Maybe send it a bit more private to General Lighting, he’s the boss :weee:

    Yeah shows are weekly though and I think I’d struggle to commit…

    hence only looking with vague interest at the moment…. I think the plan is to get the 3 dj’s from our rig to do a show together, but we need to practice playing b2b a bit more as we’ve all got quite different tastes.

    #1277352
    Avatar
    Angel
    Moderator

    Well, let us know when or if you are ready :weee:

    #1277358
    Avatar
    sim667
    Participant

    @angel 560899 wrote:

    Well, let us know when or if you are ready :weee:

    Will do, if you ever need something doing once or so a month at the weekends lemme know, I’d definately be game… my day job is a teacher and I’m still studying so time isn’t always my freind unfrotunately.

    Another issue is I just play whatever I fancy, so can never guarantee what genre you’ll get ๐Ÿ˜€

    https://soundcloud.com/sim667

    #1277353
    Avatar
    Angel
    Moderator

    You should try and message General Lighting.

    Press his name up there ^^^^^^ and write a private message ๐Ÿ™‚

    I will download your mix later but I’m in school right now..

    One of the pupils who probably get on your nerves, doing everything else than schoolwork

    :laugh_at::laugh_at:

    Nah, I’m on my break :biggreen:

    #1277348
    Avatar
    General Lighting
    Moderator

    I can also easily schedule pre-recorded shows as well (provided they are 192k MP3 and not redlined/clipped and/or compressed too hard), and had planned to extend the genres played by VFR beyond house and trance (the original VFR in Reading, SE England played every sort of dance genre anyway).

    Once I work out how to get the emergency mountpoint on the remote server then live shows will be far easier (as that will give the DJ’s a bit of leeway to start and be easier for those in UK) – as my playout server is locked directly to the exact time of the Netherlands (thus having a 1 hour offset from UK civil time). Although I could use the sourceforge airtime show playout, not only does the DJ have to be exactly on time (or I then have to put some other content on the same schedule), the way it currently works shows a connect error to the icecast encoder at the studio end until TX time which will confuse everyone (more so those used to the old style PVR connection method, which you needed two PC’s (and nearly 3 hands) to do a handover without many seconds of dead air and/or the auto DJ cutting back in.

    #1277354
    Avatar
    Angel
    Moderator

    @sim667 560900 wrote:

    https://soundcloud.com/sim667

    Some nice mixes there, even my toddler likes them :bounce_g::bounce_g::bounce_g:

    #1277349
    Avatar
    General Lighting
    Moderator

    @angel 560913 wrote:

    Some nice mixes there, even my toddler likes them :bounce_g::bounce_g::bounce_g:

    I haven’t yet had time to listen properly for QC purposes, but small children as well as cats and dogs will not put up with redlined/clipped sound and will move away from the loudspeaker units, so they must be good.

    @sim667 – If you are happy for me to use any of these mixes then either send me a PM or soundcloud email and I will find a space for at least a few of them. The only things I might edit is to normalise/slightly process the peak levels so they are not way out from the previous programme audio, the start of the programme is usually preceded by one or two VFR Europe jingles in English and Dutch, and any “overruns” beyond exactly 30:00 or 01:00:00 are faded.

    I will not at any point split your programme up into pieces to put ads or anything else across it – on VFR jingles and filler material is simply used to pad out underrunning shows to the next hour.

    There is an odd issue where one jingle gets the first bit clipped but I need to re-edit it and check the fade in times (I might have to buy a gig or two extra RAM for that server if its doing real time transcoding/processing)

    When VFR first played breakcore in the 1990s it got the daytime Station Manager (a middle aged posh dude) to jump out of bed and nearly drive to the studio still in his pyjamas, as he thought we’d been in the CTA rack and bypassed out the limiters and that the distortion would cut across to the aircraft frequencies above Band II FM (which are actually known as “VFR” frequencies as they are where the aircraft captain communicates with approach and control tower on the radio).

    But the two broadcast engineers from BBC Internal monitoring services (Crowlsley park, which was once a secret place) whom I knew from back in my pirate days reassured them “don’t worry, the young peoples music is supposed to be like that, and Alex and his friends wouldn‘t bypass the limiter as they know exactly why it is there and what it does (indeed one of us would keep an eye and ear on the output at all times, and we even confiscated the GSM phones of many DJ’s at the front desk, they were kept in safe storage 5m exclusion zone from the studio.

    those 1990s ones would make interference noise on the mixer. Even Chris Liberator had to hand over his mobile, but when we explained why he was cool with it and impressed that we were putting that much effort in.

    Todays mobile terminal equipment isn’t so bad, but I still try and keep it clear from the main desk..

    #1277359
    Avatar
    sim667
    Participant

    Thanks, I will definately give you a shout, I’ve got a good one that sc wouldn’t let me put up, and I generally record one or two mixes a month as I’m into all sorts of types and styles.

    Every now and then I uploaded to a podcast service my friend runs too

    #1277360
    Avatar
    sim667
    Participant

    I think i sent general lighting a message, but nothing is appearing in my sent folder. Can you let me know if you got it please?

    #1277366
    Avatar
    beauty
    Participant

    thankx for the help but i think they are really not interested.

    #1277355
    Avatar
    DaftFader
    Participant

    @sim667 561168 wrote:

    I think i sent general lighting a message, but nothing is appearing in my sent folder. Can you let me know if you got it please?

    Angel’s let him know about your post in the staff room, so he’ll definitely see this. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    #1277350
    Avatar
    General Lighting
    Moderator

    I’ve got sim’s message and have replied to . I had to redo the whole VFR schedule as it went blanco again from a obscure bug (I’m not the only Airtime user to have had that) and the playout went to dead air ๐Ÿ˜ฅ and its currently back to repeated pre-records of house and trance shows, but I want to extend the genres and up the BPM on some tracks. Also got the CTA phone and studio mobile up and running so there are more than one ways to contact the station.

Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.

Skip to toolbar