Party Vibe


Go Back   Party Vibe > Vibe > Chatter
Connect with Facebook

Chatter Anything goes! Talk about anything you like here...



Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29-12-2006, 01:28 PM
samsonix's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Gender: Undisclosed
Posts: 6

does anyone know this online shop ???

i found this shop on line, the prices are very interesting by french standards, but it just seems too much to be true, does anyone know this site. what do you lot think ???

HTML Code:
http://www.drumteh.co.uk/
thanx for your help :o)
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 29-12-2006, 01:37 PM
General Lighting's Avatar
Unplattbar
 
Joined: Nov 2002
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, UK
Age: 38
Gender: Male
Posts: 15,973

WARNING: This is a dodgy place

I know the area of West London they claim to be from.

There is no such legitimate shop or business around that area that sells computer equipment. it is mostly broken down or dying old industrial estates (the sort where raves happen!)

http://heim.ifi.uio.no/~gisle/blog/?cat=4

they also try to sell by spamming. Avoid them.


---
Taai is mijn leven als een kat.

Last edited by General Lighting; 29-12-2006 at 01:39 PM..
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 29-12-2006, 01:41 PM
samsonix's Avatar
Registered User
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Gender: Undisclosed
Posts: 6

lol
sorry i should of done a bit more research first, they're known e-thieves actually
thanx any way general
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 30-12-2006, 01:41 AM
elretardo87's Avatar
Moderator
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: scotland
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,483

Definately a scam.


Quote:
Anyone who has tried to buy photographic equipment online is familiar with “bait & switch”, understood as a scheme where a webstore lure you with a very low initial price - then contacts you by phone to sell you a lot of extra junk at inflated prices.
Uk-based(?) webstore DexDigital.co.uk (gone, but resurrected as MobiTeh.co.uk, EastElectronics.co.uk, Gonex.co.uk, AnviDirect.co.uk, cxMusic.co.uk, wMusic.co.uk, DJOnLineStore.co.uk, Aigars.co.uk, OrvisInc.co.uk, StarkDigital.co.uk and DrumTeh.co.uk) has given this concept a new, and far more sinister, twist. Read on to learn how the scam works.
Dexdigital.co.uk lists their address as “London Business Center, 203 Edgware Road #03-32, W2 1ES - UK”. There is no “London Business Centre”, nor a company named anything like “DexDigital”, at that address - only a reputable company that has been supplying “ironmongery, bathroom and electrical accessories” for years.
If you are an overseas buyer, the only payment option offered by DexDigital.co.uk and its successors are Western Union wire transfer and direct debit. Nothing new here: You transfer your money to them, they steal it.
But if your address indicate that you are an UK-resident, it looks as if you can pay by debit or credit card. And indeed, if you indicate that you want to pay by card, you are taken to a “Secure Payment Page”, which is running a secure protocol as indicated by the padlock symbol. The secure payment page is part of an e-business solution operated by WorldPay - which is a subsidiary of the reputable Bank of Scotland (click on image to see whole page):


Click the image to open in full size.


As it turns out, bad design on WorldPay’s part (and/or lax security at a website operated by a legitimate WorldPay merchant) has allowed the fraudulent webside to “hijack” the merchant’s secure payment page. If you go through the motions of completing payment, the transaction will initially go through, but then be caught by WorldPay and recognized as freudulent, which will lead to reversal of the transaction (after some time).
As far as I am able to tell, the thieves is not able to use WorldPay/credit card route to steal any money. However, by having a real and working credit card checkout page as “part of” their otherwise very fake web shop, they are able to appear to the casual visitor as to be a “real” webshop recognized by credit card companies (as opposed to the obvious fake sites that “only” accept payment via Western Union).
Reply With Quote


Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On




All times are GMT. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin.
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
no new posts